Official Japanese Language Thread!

Joined Mar 2007
8K Posts | 1+
Japan
If you're learning Japanese, come one, come all! I'm learning japanese (hardcore style! XD) now (because of fansubs making me mad...*grumble grumble*) Anyways, if you have problems or need help in this language, come here! ^_^

I can already tell this is a hard language but I will master it! XD

I'm learning by a podcast. It's cool because there are also notes you can download with the lessons. ^_^

I'm taking notes now (easier to remember and so far, I'm going with it pretty good.) I'm pleased with it. I also prefer writing the pronouncations if I can. I studied it for some hours last night and I'm slowly getting the hang of it.

I'm doing the same. I'm learning with J-pod 101 podcasts. I've also learned hiragana, but katakana is sooooo hard for me.

Hajimemashite!

Mai and I (and Jaded but he never posts) took Japanese 1 together last semester. We were enrolled in J2 this semester, but because very few people signed up for our class, the one we were in got canceled. :'( And because all the other classes were at bad times for us we couldn't get into another J2 class. So next semester we're trying again.

Aww. Well, I hope you guys get to do it. ^_^ How's J1? Is it just the basics and everything?

It really depends on the teacher. Our J1 teacher taught us hiragana and katakana, and even some kanji. When we went into J2 with a different teacher, she was going to teach katakana, so I guess she didn't normally teach it in J1.

Ah. I'm mainly going to focus on speaking it for now. I'll end up taking classes here (yes, there is a Japanese class for our age in this area) when I feel like I got the main aspects of the language down. Unless I feel like it's absolutely necessary if I need to do it.

Learning the hiragana and katakana help a lot. I still practice those almost every day to make sure I don't forget them just because I'm not in class right now. Also the vocabulary! I can't forget anything!!