Zelda TP: A Summation

Joined Jun 2004
5K Posts | 0+
North America
The latest and greatest Zelda game was one I had great anticipation for. I had been pining for this game literally for about 5 years, possibly longer. When I bought my Gamecube way back in 2001 (or was it 2000, can't remember...) the biggest reason I bought it was to have the ability to play through a new Zelda adventure. I had resisted the tempation that Grand Theft Auto III and Ico held for the PS2. I had composed myself when I saw the crystalline graphics and online plans for the Xbox. Needless to say, I had very high expectations. I made a $350 investment because I believed the new Zelda (in addition to some other various titles, but none more so than Zelda) would be worth it.

When Wind Waker came out I thought it was a joke. Like everyone who witnessed the video at E3 it left me in a kind of disbelief. I couldn't deny what I had seen but I desperately wanted to. This was not the game that I was promised years before when I purchased my Gamecube. It was not the game I wanted. But, having come to terms with it and acknowledging that it was a Zelda title I purchased it with the extra incentive of getting a GC copy of OOT (though I never played it, controls never felt right) and played through all of Wind Waker. Why? To this day I'm not exactly sure. The game started off well enough but really just went downhill from there. The worst part of the game was when the developers actually teased you by showing you Hyrule underneath the sea. Just seeing it there made you want to go explore it and made you wish the rest of the game took place there. But it didn't. It took place on a boat that forced you to play a song every time you wanted to change direction. It became incredibly tedious and lost whatever charm it could have had. It was a mistake.